Skip to content

Pumpkin Ricotta Pasta with Crispy Sage

December 9, 2012

parmesan and sage

Gosh do I love pumpkin. So much so that for the past few weeks I’ve bought a few cans every time I go to the grocery store. Because when it comes to pumpkin my inner monologue goes something like this: “Oh look, pumpkin puree is on sale. Gosh, I love pumpkin. I know I have a few cans in the pantry though. But probably not enough. And it’s on sale. And I love pumpkin. I could make pumpkin muffins. Or pumpkin ravioli. Or a pumpkin pie. I should definitely get some more pumpkin.” And so I buy more pumpkin and hope that I can stash them away before Fred sees them and hassles me about my hoarding tendencies.

IMGP7782pumpkin ricotta sauce
And then I make delicious pumpkin based things so that even if Fred does come across my stash of reserved pumpkin puree I can point to those meals in my defense. Remember those black bean enchiladas in a pumpkin chile sauce? Remember that pumpkin ricotta pasta sauce? Unfortunately, I haven’t photographed most of my pumpkin creations so you’ll just have to use your imagination, but I did manage to snap a few shots of this dish before it went into our bellies. It’s a classic pumpkin pasta sauce on display, made a little fancy with the addition of crispy sage leaves. It’s quick enough to throw together for a last minute dinner, but makes a good amount for lunches the rest of the week – though the recipe easily halves if leftovers aren’t your thing. Enjoy

Pumpkin Ricotta Pasta with Crispy Sage 

Serves 8

Ingredients

2 boxes whole wheat pasta

1 can pumpkin puree (1.5 cups)

1 container ricotta (almost 2 cups worth)

1/2 cup milk

3 Tbs Sage, plus 20-30 or so additional whole leaves reserved for crisping

Red pepper flakes, Salt and Pepper to taste

Parmesan, finely grated

Preparation

Prepare pasta according to package directions for al dente.

In a medium pot, combine your ricotta, pumpkin, milk and spices. Heat over a medium flame until warm – adjust heat to keep warm until the pasta is finished.

Drain pasta, return to pot and pour warm sauce over, stirring to combine. Cover to keep hot.

In a medium pan or pot set over medium high heat, add olive oil to coat. When the olive oil is hot add reserved sage leaves in a single layer. Cook for a couple of minutes until they darken in color,then remove from pan and place on paper towel.

As soon as sage is crisped, serve pasta immediately, topped with plenty of finely grated parmesan and crispy sage leaves.

IMGP7783

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

