Skip to content

Parsnip Parmesan Soup

December 2, 2012

parsnip parmesan soup

So, winter happened. Again. This dawned on me last week as I returned home from Thanksgiving in Chicago and all I was carrying on the plane was down (as in feathers). I wore a down vest, carried my down jacket and stowed my new down comforter. I was a vision in down and was quite pleased with the thought that if necessary I could wrap myself entirely in down and then make a down tent or cocoon for shelter. You know, should all power sources suddenly fail or if I was locked out of my apartment with no where to go or something.

parsnips

Thus, the return of soups in earnest. This parsnip number is my newest creation in an effort to eat myself to warmth. The sweetness of the parsnips is balanced by the parmesan and the whole thing gets a kick in the but from a good dash of red pepper (or not, if you’re not into spicy). It’s a simple soup, easy to prepare and good for you without tasting too much like it is. Enjoy and stay warm folks!

parsnip parmesan soup

Parsnip Parmesan Soup

Serves 6-8

Ingredients 

3 tbs butter (or oil to make vegan)

4 large leeks, white and light green parts coined

2 lb parsnips, peeled, cored and thickly sliced

1 large carrot, in large matchsticks

8 thyme sprigs

2 bay leaves

2 tsp salt

4 cups vegetable or chicken stock

Pepper to taste

Red pepper flakes to taste

1 cup parmesan, finely grated

Preparation

Melt butter in a dutch oven set over med low heat. When foaming, add leeks, thyme sprigs, bay leaves and 1 tsp salt, cover and cook, stirring occasionally, until leeks are soft and translucent – about 15 minutes.

Turn up heat to medium high and add carrots, parsnips and remaining teaspoon salt. Cook 5 minutes, stirring a few times. Add your stock and bring to a boil, then lower to a simmer and cook covered until the vegetables are tender – about 20-30 minutes. Remove bay leaves and thyme sprigs and blend until smooth.

To serve, place about an 1/8 cup of parmesan in the bottom each bowl and ladle hot soup over. Pass salt, pepper and red pepper flakes for guests to add to their desired taste.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2012 1:34 pm

    Oh this sounds really really good — must remind myself about this recipe next weekend! Thanks for Sharing 😉 /Louisa

  2. December 3, 2012 1:48 pm

    I love the sound of this soup! Just added to my to-try list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

