Skip to content

Maple Walnut Jam Cookies

September 25, 2011

maple walnut jam cookies

It’s been quite a week of cookie making around the Freds’ abode. It started with a very large batch of chocolate chocolate chunk cookies, which I baked to serve at several meetings, with the goal of increasing future attendance with rumors of the presence of home baked chocolate goodness. Then came a batch of plain old chocolate chip cookies, whipped up for my monthly office potluck lunch. And finally, maple walnut jam cookies for a good friend’s birthday party.

marion berry jam

It was a week of cookies, and ultimately these last ones were what really did it for me. They were very simple to make, and a bit fun, they contain no refined sugars or flours, and they had the perfect balance of sweet and nutty without being too rich. Plus they look lovely and special. So lovely and special in fact, that I took an obsessive number of photographs; so I’ll leave you alone to take a look and start checking your pantry for the ingredients…

maple syrup and oilground oats and walnutsingredients for maple walnut jam cookiesmixing up maple walnut jam cookiesmaple walnut jam cookies

Maple Walnut Jam Cookies

Makes approximately 18 cookies

You can use any type of jam or preserves for these cookies – we used marionberry (a cultivar of the blackberry) to good effect.

Ingredients

1 cup walnuts

1 cup regular oats

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1/2 cup vegetable or canola oil

1/2 cup maple syrup

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp cinnamon

Jam or preserves of your choice

Preparation

Preheat your oven to 350 F with a rack in the middle position.

Put oats and walnuts into a food processor and grind until they’re coarsely ground and the walnuts are indistinguishable from the oats. Then mix your oil and maple syrup. Combine all your dry ingredients, including the ground walnuts and oats, then pour in the oil and maple syrup and stir to combine.

Using a spoon, form the dough into flattened balls about 3 inches across and place on a baking sheet lined with parchment. Press your thumb into the center and fill the small cavity with about a half teaspoon of jam or preserves. Bake for 13-16 minutes, then remove from oven and allow to cool another 5 minutes on the baking sheet before moving the cookies to a wire rack to cool.

maple walnut jam cookies

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2011 4:26 pm

    Excellent site. Great post. Well done.

  2. Jane permalink
    June 17, 2012 11:15 pm

    This recipe was difficult (I used a blender instead of a food processor because I was struggling with it) but I absolutely loved it. But I suggest adding milk or something because my cookes were a bit dry. But I’m glad I made them! They were delicious and they’re so healthy

  3. July 19, 2012 5:56 pm

    I made these today for my 2 year old daughter, but I ended up eating half of them myself! I love how tasty these were even though it took me like 5 minutes to whip up the dough. My dough was slightly too soft for my liking, so I added a tiny bit of flour and it was perfect.

Trackbacks

  1. Vegan Jam Thumbprint Cookies | Pumpkin Honey
  2. Echo Hill <3 | Pumpkin Honey
  3. Go-To Recipes | Pumpkin Honey
  4. 30 Vegan Cookie Recipes without Margarine or Egg Replacers | Vegan feed

Leave a Reply

